Friday, March 1, 2013

5 pillars of Islam

1) Shahadah (Declaration of Faith)
لَا إِلَّهَ إِلَّا الله مُحَمَّدٌ رَسُولُ الله (lā ʾilāha ʾillā l-Lāh, Muḥammadun rasūlu l-Lāh) (in Arabic)
There is no god but God, Muhammad is the messenger of God. (in English)

2)Salah (Prayer) Call to Prayer Adhan (azan)

-Proper covering: correct clothing, clean, in the right place
-bismillah "in the name of God..."
-purification: wash face, head, mouth, nose, arms and feet
-face the quibla *direction of the Kaaba
-pray with a partition in front of you

Salaat / Rak'ah

Rak'ah steps

3) Zakat (almsgiving)

2.5% of a person's wealth looking out for the community of Muslims (especially orphans, widows)

4) Sawm (fasting)
Fasting during the 9th month (Ramadan) fasting from Sunrise to Sunset -abstain from food, drink and sex children, pregnant women, elderly and the sick are not supposed to fast.

5) Hajj (Pilgrimage)
Every Muslim of means should try to make the pilgrimage at least once in their life. Hajj takes place during the 12 month of the Muslim Calendar. Pilgrims perform a series of rituals during the Hajj including wearing special clothing, making 7 cycles around the Kaaba and reciting certain prayers.

No comments: